Delirious announces new drummer

The UK-based, RIAA Certified Gold-selling, globally relevant band Delirious?, having released its most critically acclaimed album so far, Kingdom of Comfort, on April 1, announces its new drummer taking them forward, Paul Evans.

After more than 12 years together as a band, Stew Smith let fans know in February that he would be leaving the quintet that includes lead vocalist Martin Smith, guitarist Stu G, keyboardist Tim Jupp, and bassist Jon Thatcher. Helping the band choose his replacement, Stew said, “Paul is, in my opinion, one of, if not the, best drummer in our scene. He has passion, sensitivity, finesse and power. Most of all I love Paul for his heart, and that is the thing that will be evident when you meet him. He always has time for you, always has time to laugh and joke and these are the qualities you need to survive on the road.”

A natural choice for the band, Evans stepped in for Stew on the band’s tour of the U.S. in 2006, but his history with the band goes back even further. Evans explains, “My earliest memory of Delirious? was back in the days before they were even Delirious?. They used to do their Cutting Edge events in my school hall.”

Evans grew up in Littlehampton [England], and went full time as a drummer in 2004. In just a few years, he has notched a solid resume that includes tracks on over 40 professional albums, including projects by Tim Hughes, Matt Redman, Ben Cantelon, Graham Kendrick, One Hundred Hours, Brenton Brown, Cathy Burton and more.

“It’s a real privilege taking over for Stew,” Evans says. “He was a very big influence on me as I was learning; at one point I played exactly like him: the same fills and even buying the same Pearl piccolo snare! I’m going to have to get in shape to play with the same energy that Stew plays with, but I’ll probably stop short of the triathlons though!”

“I’m so proud of the things that Paul has already achieved but I’m more excited about the fresh new dynamics he will bring to Delirious?,” adds Stew.

“There’s nobody else we’d have covering our backs and beats,” says Stu G. “Evans has the skills, the passion and the heart to take us on. We’re looking forward to our future together.”

And Delirious?, currently on tour in Australia, will be touring the world in support of its eleventh studio album, Kingdom of Comfort, an album that questions everything, from cancer to consumerism, “five star” dreams to slums and poverty. It is an album that calls for sacrifice, social justice and love.

More information about the band can be found at, with even more content available by joining the band’s “Living Room” at

Read our feature story on Delirious’ album Kingdom of Comfort here.

Related posts:

  1. Drummer Stew Smith leaving Delirious
  2. Delirious Breaking up in 2009
  3. Free Delirious song download “God is Smiling&quot
  4. Relient K drummer Dave Douglas leaving band
  5. Lori Peters parts ways with Skillet
  6. Pillar announces “For the Love of the Game” tour dates
  7. Stryper Announces 25th Anniversary Tour
  8. Michael W. Smith to release A New Hallelujah Oct. 28
  9. Former guitarist Jody Davis returns to Newsboys
  10. Stephanie Smith’s “Not Afraid” streets May 27th
This entry was posted in Music way. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.