Karkwa wins the 2010 Polaris Music Prize

The Polaris Music Prize is a music award yearly given to the finest full-length Canadian album based on artistic merit, regardless of genre, sales, or record label. The award was established in 2006 and includes a C$20,000 cash prize. The Polaris Music Prize is sculpted after the Mercury Music Prize, which is handed to the best British or Irish album.

And this year Montreal francophone rockers Karkwa were awarded the 2010 Polaris Music Prize for their album Les Chemins De Verre. And they came out with a $20,000 purse, and is handed out annually to the best Canadian album of the year, regardless of sales or genre.

Karkwa’s win marks the first time in the Polaris’ five year history that the award has been given to a non-English band.

The band – singer Louis-Jean Cormier, keyboardist Francois Lafontaine, drummer Julier Sagot, drummer Stéphane Bergeron and bassist Martin Lamontaigne – was formed in 1998 and have released three albums prior to Les Chemins De Verre, including Les Tremblements s’immobilisent, which won a trio of Felix Awards in 2006.

Related posts:

  1. Neil Young wins first Grammy for music
  2. Bieber, Drake, Arcade Fire nab Grammy nomination
  3. Scottish singer Emma’s thoughts wins Must Be the Music
  4. Folk music award nominations out
  5. Shania Twain named into Canadian Music Hall of Fame
  6. Eminem Wins Digital Music Royalty Lawsuit – Music Industry Turned on its Head – How Will it endure?
  7. Armless Pianist Liu Wei Wows & Wins On ‘China’s Got Talent’
  8. Lori Peters parts ways with Skillet
  9. Rihanna, Britney kick off invigorated Billboard Awards
  10. Bluegrass music awards
This entry was posted in I like it. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.